top of page
  • imfightinglikeagirl

Electrophysiologist Appointment


Today I had an appointment with the electrical heart doctor at St. Thomas. This was my first visit with him, and he was great! He was just voted one of the top 10 doctors in the nation. He is also one of my dad's doctors. We spoke about everything that has been going on and he said that the test that were run showed that something definitely isn't right, but most likely not life threatening. He said that the night I was admitted to the hospital my heart rate was around 180-200 beats per minute. Normal range is about 60-100. When my heart rate was in the 130-150 range it was sinus tachycardia, meaning that it was fast but staying in normal rhythm. When it was in the 180-200 range, the heart monitor I had been wearing couldn't quite tell what rhythm I was in since it was so fast. The doctor said that he would like to do a diagnostic electrophysiology cath to check for SVTs, so I will be having that procedure done on November 12th. If he can recreate the episode and the electrical side of my heart is not working properly, he will perform an ablation. We also talked about other options incase it is not caused by an electrical issue. We have already changed my medication, but we will change it again and probably add a few more, too. The doctor said that a lot of what I have is, "a big black whole in medicine." I guess it's another thing that won't be normal, but that's okay. I trust God and my doctor. He said he will be taking extra precautions because of my age and take good care of me.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page